Meeting Time: September 15, 2020 at 9:00am PDT

Agenda Item

The Commission was formed by resolution in 1983 to provide advice to the Board of Supervisors on water matters; assist in the development of water policies; monitor State and federal legislation and water policy and inform the Board of Supervisors regarding the same by way of summary reports; review the concerns of the water industry and water users in the County; and make recommendations to the Board of Supervisors. The Commission may act as a liaison between local water agencies and the Board of Supervisors; create and maintain a library of water documents which shall be available to the public; and perform all tasks delegated to the Water Commission pursuant Butte County Code Chapter 33A. The Commission is appointed by the Board of Supervisors and consists of nine members comprised of the following: one member appointed by each member of the Board of Supervisors, whose terms coincide with the appointing Supervisors; and four at-large commissioners, two served by private wells and two served by district water, appointed by the full Board to a four year term. The commissioner appointed by District 3 resigned effective, July 7, 2020, and a vacancy notice was posted on July 17, 2020. Supervisor Ritter nominates Roderick Peterson to the Commission as the District 3 Representative, with a term ending January 9, 2023. At its August 11, 2020, the Board directed this item be continued to a time when Mr. Peterson could be available for questions. (Supervisor Ritter, District 3)